Review – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Hobbit_the_desolation_of_smaug_ver15_xlg

(Note: The first portion of the post is how I feel going into the movie, the second part how that notion lines up with the movie)
I just want to start out saying that I really liked the Lord of the Rings Trilogy of films, and that I read “The Hobbit” when I was about 12, and thoroughly enjoyed that as well. That being said, I cannot figure out for the life of me why Peter Jackson and all of those involved would turn “The Hobbit” into almost 9 HOURS worth of movie. Now, I know that they are drawing from “The Silmarillion” and, having seen the first Hobbit film, it looks like they are looking to explain how Sauron came to be, and Mordor came to exist and all that jazz. That’s all well and good and understandable, but then I saw the first movie. And it took them what felt like 2 hours just to get out out Bilbo’s fucking house. Being the nerd that I am, I should be looking forward to seeing this movie, but I’m kind of dreading it, and only going cause my nerdy father would like to see it. I am optimistic though, considering that the heavy handed exposition that took place in the first film is (hopefully) now over, and we can move along a bit more swiftly in the story. We’ll see how it goes…..

Well, I just got back from the movie and dinner, and you want to know what I had for dinner? A nice, big, steaming plate of crow. I actually really liked “The Desolation of Smaug”. There were a few times in there that I thought, “Man, Peter Jackson didn’t have to cut out anything did he?” Some of the scenes or shots even were too long, and I think it was just him having so many hours to fill with a story that wasn’t that many pages to begin with, that he could keep in moments that someone with less hours allotted would have dropped. I liked the second Hobbit movie much better than it’s predecessor though, and am really looking forward to the last installment. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some very stringy bird to go pick out of my teeth.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment